top of page


Round 1 Action Takes Off for FireWire E-Pro Global Final.

Event favorites shine alongside dark horses in men’s Round 1

Figura 1 – Round 1 Official Results

Mexico, July 22, 2021. - The Surf Web Series FireWire E-Pro Global Final is off and running with Round 1 posted, judged, and wrapped. Event threats delivered brilliant starts alongside a few breakthrough performances from lower seeds.

Regional event winners Dale Staples (South Africa), Tenshi Iwami (Japan), Thiago Camarao (Brasil), and Miguel Blanco (Europe) all took down impressive heat wins to start their Global Final campaigns.

A big performance from Staples’ showcase at Bruces, St. Francis, stole the show in Heat 1 earning a sweep of first-place results to overtake runner-up Ian Gouveia and Korbin Hutchings – who will have to deal with the repecharge Round 2. Peruvians started strong with Cristobal de Col (Heat 2) leading the charge after an easy Round 1 victory from his submission at Cabo Blanco’s rifling barrel. Fellow countryman Tomas Tudela also earned a clean sweep of first-place votes in Heat 12.

Figura 2 - Thiago Camarão, R1H4 Champion -Photo @rafaski - Maresias

Notable victories also came from Chile’s Erik Bustos, taking down Mexico E-Pro Champion Sebastian Williams and E-Pro Europe runner-up Neco Pyrrait in Heat 5 along with USA E-Pro runner-up Cole Houshmand overcoming Australia’s E-Pro Champion Reef Heazlewood and Japan’s talented Kaito Kurokawa. South Africa’s Chad du Toit took down Peru’s E-Pro Champion Lucca Mesinas and Brasilian threat Renan Pulga as Pulga’s fellow countryman Lucas Chianca bested USA E-Pro Champion Kei Kobayashi by one vote.

A massive repecharge Round 2 awaits the strong talents such as Kade Matson (USA), Pyrrait, Pulga, Mexcio’s Angelo Donnanno, Australia’s Thomas Carvalho, and Europe E-Pro Semifinalist Stanley Norman (ENG).

Stay tuned for more from the SWS FireWire E-Pro Global Final as the women’s event begins July 25.


- Watch the round 1 highlights: ROUND 1 HIGHLIGHTS

- Stay on top of the voting results: VOLTING RESULTS

- See how round 2 turned out of repechage: ROUND 2 REPECHAGE


Figura 3 - Dale Staples, R1H1 Champion - Photo - @alexmcgeownphoto - Jeffrey's Bay

The FireWire E-Pro Global Final is sponsored by FireWire Surfboads, The Bad Stuff, Cerveja Pacifico Mexico, Yukibrand Wetsuits, Red Bull Chile and the realization is the Surf Web Series in conjunction with the Surf Open League.

Follow and participate in the championship through the @surfwebseries pages and help your favorite surfer by voting. For more information, visit



bottom of page