top of page



The women are off and running at the FireWire E-Pro Global Final with big performances and close battles in their Round 1 debut while the men’s event witnessed more brilliance, as well as upsets, in Round 3.

Figura 1 – Men’s Round 3 Official Results

Mexico, July 26, 2021. - A highly-anticipated start to women’s action didn’t disappoint with E-Pro South Africa Champion Sophie Bell leading the charge in Round 1 Heat 1 to continue her winning form with her Canggu, Bali, entry showcasing her forehand attack.

Heats 2 and 3 belonged to Brasil, respectively, with Laura Raupp’s aggressive forehand at Pico da Cruz and former Championship Tour (CT) competitor Silvana Lima showcasing her aerial antics. Peru’s Arena Rodriguez stole a big Round 1 win over Yanca Costa and E-Pro Mexico Champion Shelby Detmers – who will have to deal with Round 2 elimination.


- Access the web version: ROUND 2 RECAP


Figura 2 – Laura Raupp, R1H2 Champion - Photo: @rsaccomori – Florianópolis

Brazil’s success continued once more in Heat 5 with rising talent Taina Hinckel Santos nearly pulling off a first-place sweep over Peru’s standout Melanie Giunta and South Africa’s Faye Zoetmulder. But South Africa representatives weren’t done either as Zoe Steyn finished off Round 1 with a big win and helping send one of Mexico’s premier women talents of Asaya Brusa into Round 2.

Men’s Round 3 started off with a massive upset as Peru’s Tomas Tudela and Mexico’s Angelo Donanno eliminated E-Pro Australia Champion Reef Heazlewood. Tudela’s Cabo Blanco barrel was more than enough for a sweep of first-place votes.

Wildcard Bruno Santos’ Desert Point dreamer also swept first-place votes in Heat 2 as Peru E-Pro Champion Guillermo Satt narrowly avoided elimination by one point against South Africa’s Josh Redman and Peru’s Alonso Correa – both eliminated. Following Heat 2, Heat 3 witnessed a massive showdownand Peru E-Pro Champion Lucca Mesinas came away with the win over Neco Pyrrait and eliminating USA’s East Coast threat Rob Kelly.


- Watch the round 3 highlights: ROUND 3 HIGHLIGHTS

- Stay on top of the voting results: R3 MEN VOLTING RESULTS

- Stay on top of the voting results: R1 WOMEN’S VOLTING RESULTS

- See who will be in round 4 men’s: HEAT DRAW ROUND 4 MEN’S

- See who will be in round 2 women’s: HEAT DRAW ROUND 2 WOMEN’S


Figura 3 – Thomas Tudela – Photo: @mickyzu75

USA lost another surfer, rising talent Kade Matson, in Heat 4 as Brasil’s big wave charger Lucas Chianca continues to impress – this time at El Gringo, Chile, for another heat win. E-Pro South Africa Champion Dale Staples helped eliminate Matson and Peru’s Cristobal de Col and secure his place into Round 4.

Miguel Blanco and Chad Du Toit took massive respective heat wins and continue to be on fire throughout this event with barrel riding glory on full display. E-Pro Mexico Runner-Up Alan Cleland Jr. and E-Pro Japan Runner-up Shohey Kato both found their way through to Round 4 with respective runner-up positions.

E-Pro Mexico Champion Sebastian Williams shook off his Round 1 loss and has now gone back-to-back wins, this time showcasing his own barrel prowess with the lone USA competitor Cole Houshmand earning runner-up to survive and eliminated E-Pro Japan Champion Tenshi Iwami in the process. E-Pro Brasil Champion Thiago Camarao and Shake Sykes eared a tie for first-place but the judges had Sykes earning first with two first-place and two second-place votes – eliminating Chile’s Erik Bustos.

Stay tuned for more from the FireWire E-Pro Global Final Men’s Round 4 and Women’s Round 2.


The FireWire E-Pro Global Final is sponsored by FireWire Surfboads, The Bad Stuff, Cerveja Pacifico Mexico, Yukibrand Wetsuits, Red Bull Chile and the realization is the Surf Web Series in conjunction with the Surf Open League.

Follow and participate in the championship through the @surfwebseries pages and help your favorite surfer by voting. For more information, visit



bottom of page